service slide 1
previous arrow
next arrow

QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF)

level 2 fire safety

Awarding Body:

Qualsafe Awards – Ofqual regulated

Training course type:

On-site training and assessment

Novice training course duration:

1 day

Novice candidate numbers:


Card options:

Refresher training is recommended every 3 years

Minimum age:




What is QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF)?

The QA Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF) is a regulated and nationally recognised qualification that has been specifically designed for anyone who has a specific responsibility for fire safety in the workplace, such as designated fire wardens/fire marshals. Successful candidates will gain an understanding of fire safety management at work and the specific roles and responsibilities related to fire safety in the workplace.

What does the training course include?

  • Causes of fires in the workplace
  • The fire triangle
  • Hazards during and after a fire
  • Fire and smoke spread
  • Identifying and controlling fire hazards:
    • Fire prevention
    • Fire detection and raising the alarm
    • Means of escape
    • Principles of extinguishing fires
    • Fire-fighting equipment and systems
  • Fire safety laws
  • Duties and responsibilities of employers and
  • employees
  • Undertaking a fire safety inspection
  • Fire safety risk assessments
  • Contents of a fire safety briefing
  • Roles and responsibilities of the nominated firewarden:
    • On a day-to-day basis
    • During an emergency

Venue and equipment requirements:

The training venue must meet acceptable health and safety standards and be conducive to learning, with sufficient: size, floor surfaces, seating, writing surfaces, toilet facilities, ventilation, lighting, heating, access, exits, cleanliness, absence of distracting noise.

Theory assessment:

  • Theory assessment/multiple choice question paper – there is 1 paper per unit for each Learner and
  • Learners should answer all the questions under ‘examination’ conditions
  • Paper Guidelines:
    • Maximum time allowed 45 minutes
    • Minimum mark is 20 out of 30 to be considered for an overall ‘Pass’

On-site training courses delivered:

Southwest – Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall, Avon, Somerset, Herefordshire, Monmouthshire

Southeast – Oxfordshire, Kent, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Surrey, Sussex, Middlesex

Midlands – Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire, Shropshire

East Angelia – Hertfordshire, Essex, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk Bristol, Birmingham, Cheltenham, Gloucester, Hereford, Witney, Oxford, Cirencester, Stroud, Swindon, Newbury, Bath, Worcester, Warwick, Reading, Northampton, Southampton, Basingstoke, Aylesbury, Cardiff

Recognised industries:

Agriculture, Public Sector, Horticulture, Forestry, Construction, Marine, Industrial, Fencing, Landscaping, Civils, Highways, Quarrying, Utilities, Councils, School, Corporate, Sports

Known as:

Fire Marshall, Fire safety training, Fire warden training

© 2024 TUPPCO